Happy Holidaze!

Here’s hoping you counted your blessings on Thanksgiving Day, gratified that 2020 is almost over. Not much to be thankful for from this past year, albeit. My short list was topped with being grateful I’m still alive throughout this ongoing pandemic—now into week 38, incidentally—and have maintained my health.

The woman in the apartment above me isn’t as lucky. Katy (not her real name) was in the hallway two weeks ago, as I entered my building and had stopped to gather mail from the postal box. She was on her way downstairs to collect hers.

“Hi, how have you been?” I said after she startled me by saying hello. I didn’t see her when I walked in.

“Not good. I’ve got that virus and it’s knocked me for a loop, as you can see by my having trouble coming down the stairs.”

“Yikes, stop. Let me put on my mask.” She wasn’t wearing one.

“I usually wear mine, but you caught me without it,” she said while continuing slowly down the stairway, huffing and puffing, then standing behind me. I had turned my back to her, reached into my camera bag to fetch some protection and covered my nose and mouth.

“How did you get it?” I walked up the stairs quickly to social-distance myself from the closest I had ever gotten to catching COVID-19.

“Good question. I don’t know, and this is the second time I’ve been down with it.”

“Wow, you’ve been sick with it twice already?” So much for becoming immune, I thought. “Do you need any help with anything, like food-shopping or any errands to be run?”

“My friend has been coming by with groceries and helping me when I need something. Thanks for asking.”

“Well, you take care and I hope you get better soon.”

“Thanks, Mike, you too, and be safe.”

Yeah, right! “Be safe,” she says after having been breathing down my neck. I zoomed into the apartment, got out of my clothes posthaste and jumped into the shower, hoping to cleanse away any traces of the virus that may have floated onto me. Luckily I avoided getting sick from that confrontation.

Now, whenever leaving the flat, I have a mask on securely until sitting inside my car, where I can take it off safely. Been wearing it mostly all the time when outdoors with people in sight. That little episode with my neighbor woke me up to the unexpected dangers of infection.

Went to Bristol Borough Park on Black Friday, one day into the official holiday season. For the past several years, I heard my first carol for yuletide blaring from the PA system at the wharf there, sometimes even before Thanksgiving. Last year the song was “Rockin’ Around the Christmas Tree,” by Brenda Lee. This year no Christmas music at all was playing, which was a bit of a disappointment to me. Another casualty from COVID-19, I assumed.

At least their tree was situated in its usual spot, decorated and lit up:

So, in case you haven’t been bombarded yet with holiday music, allow me to be the first to bestow upon you, something I put together two years ago. It’s a generic tune to suit whatever you celebrate during this festive season:

Thanks for stopping by and for your continued support. Happy holidaze!

About Mike Slickster

As an early retiree with an honorary doctorate degree from the proverbial "School of Hard Knocks," this upcoming author with a lot of free time on his hands utilizes his expansive repertoire for humorous yet tragic, wildly creative writing that contains years of imaginative fantasy, pure nonsense, classic slapstick, extreme happiness and searing heartbreak; gathered by a wealth of personal experiences throughout his thrilling—sometimes mundane or unusually horrid—free-spirited, rock-'n'-roller-coaster ride around our beloved Planet Earth. Mike Slickster's illustrious quest continues, living now in Act Three of his present incarnation, quite a bit on the cutting edge of profundity and philosophical merriment as seen through his colorful characters, most notably evident in the amusing Thirty Days Across the Big Pond series, all of which can be found at Lulu.com.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment