It’s Always Something

The prior tirade on these hallowed pages has addenda added in the comments’ section, updating the status of the awaited parcels mentioned in the essay, one of which was a new Fender Squire Telecaster; and the other is a new case for it.

The saga continues, so I decided to make a new post about it, considering my weekly rant’s deadline is in two days anyway.

tele02

The guitar made it as scheduled yesterday afternoon. It’s a beauty, as seen to the left in my cluttered flat’s studio/man cave.

All the functions worked perfectly right out of the box. No adjustments were needed, just the obligatory tuning of the strings, and stretching them to maintain consistency.

I used it tonight to add the finishing touches to a guitar solo on Rie’s and my upcoming duet, which is just about finished. She’s in the process of singing her last part as I type this.

The Telecaster sounds great, as far as I’m concerned. I tweeted a picture of it, but with my Squire bass and Rumbler amp in the photo, copying Fender in hopes of getting a like, or maybe even a re-tweet. They never responded. Guess it wasn’t good enough for them.

In fact, no one except for Rie and some anonymous tweep placed a like on my photo. Even my so-called friends on Facebook didn’t even share in my joy, or have the decency to at least say congratulations. Oh well, can’t have everything.

Perhaps the Social Media person at Fender might be angry with me for being a smart aleck with a comment made on one of their posts. It disappeared shortly after my tweeting it. Verified accounts on Twitter must have the option to delete anything they don’t like. A regular twerp like me doesn’t have that ability.

The other night while I was making a recording of a cover song, “Psycho Killer” by the Talking Heads, singing the vocal at about 11:30 p.m., I heard pounding on my front door through the headphones.

Answering the portal, I was greeted by two policemen who said my neighbors had been complaining about a racket. The officers’ previous pounding was certainly a lot louder than I was for sure.

I didn’t think I was making that much noise, considering everything was done through headphones with solid-body electric guitars and an electric keyboard. I hadn’t even gotten to the drums yet. Those bastids! (Is there such a euphemism?)

The cops were nice about it. They seemed amused. One said, “Can’t you find a garage to do your recording?” It’s always something.

Maybe the neighbor who complained heard the lyrics of the song and thought I was crazy. Allow me to share the cacophony:

Lastly, the guitar case still hasn’t made it. Responding to a search ticket in my name to find the parcel, the USPS e-mailed me yesterday to say that since the shipment went out First Class Mail, there’s no set delivery date; but when the article arrives at their facility, they would make an attempt to deliver it.

The following is the latest record of what was imputed on their Web-tracking site:

Product & Tracking Information

Postal Product:

  • First-Class Package Service

Features:

  • USPS Tracking®
Date & Time
Status of Item
Location
February 9, 2017 , 4:02 am

Arrived at USPS Facility

BENSALEM, PA 19020

The package is delayed and will not be delivered by the expected delivery date. An updated delivery date will be provided when available. Your item arrived at our USPS facility in BENSALEM, PA 19020 on February 9, 2017 at 4:02 am. The item is currently in transit to the destination.

February 9, 2017 , 3:07 am

Departed USPS Facility

PHILADELPHIA, PA 19176
February 8, 2017 , 5:59 pm

Arrived at USPS Destination Facility

PHILADELPHIA, PA 19176
February 5, 2017 , 7:32 am

In Transit to Destination

February 4, 2017 , 12:32 am

Departed USPS Origin Facility

LONG BEACH, CA 90809
February 4, 2017 , 12:31 am

Arrived at USPS Origin Facility

LONG BEACH, CA 90809
February 3, 2017 , 11:16 pm

Accepted at USPS Origin Facility

NEWBURY PARK, CA 91320
February 3, 2017 , 6:10 pm

Shipment Picked Up

NEWBURY PARK, CA 91320
February 3, 2017 , 3:24 pm

Shipping Label Created, USPS Awaiting Item

NEWBURY PARK, CA 91320

Note that the case arrived at my township’s post office this morning, and I’ve yet to received it. I e -mailed to ask when it would be delivered. Haven’t heard back from them. Hopefully they will bring it tomorrow. If not, I’ll have to pay them a visit.

I could have driven to California and back by now.

So ends another diatribe in the life of a miserable, old grouch. Thanks for stopping by to read my drivel, and as always, thanks for your support.

About Mike Slickster

As an early retiree with an honorary doctorate degree from the proverbial "School of Hard Knocks," this upcoming author with a lot of free time on his hands utilizes his expansive repertoire for humorous yet tragic, wildly creative writing that contains years of imaginative fantasy, pure nonsense, classic slapstick, extreme happiness and searing heartbreak; gathered by a wealth of personal experiences throughout his thrilling—sometimes mundane or unusually horrid—free-spirited, rock-'n'-roller-coaster ride around our beloved Planet Earth. Mike Slickster's illustrious quest continues, living now in Act Three of his present incarnation, quite a bit on the cutting edge of profundity and philosophical merriment as seen through his colorful characters, most notably evident in the amusing Thirty Days Across the Big Pond series, all of which can be found at Lulu.com.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

