So Long, Crabbies!

skull-rose02Another short week prevails, this time at the end of the month. Six weeks totaled in October 2016, although only a couple of days long for this last one, and just one day for the first.

Happy Halloween, by the way.

My self-imposed quota for writing at least one entry weekly in my journal, no matter how diminutive the week may be, prompts me to scribe the following tirade.

Just did a magnanimous purging of deadwood on my Social Media accounts. Most everyone of those I follow on Twitter became followers by their own initiative, not mine, using probably those infernal follower-bots that I’ve mentioned in several previous posts, while I followed them back if they seemed interesting.

Got tired of seeing their BS on my timeline, rolling voluminously by in real time, nonstop, and mostly total drivel as far as this fed-up tweep is concerned.

It wouldn’t have been so bad had they interacted with me once in a while; yet lately, every time a tweet of mine went out into the Twittersphere, deafening silence followed. Not even an “I agree,” or disagree, well-done, good job, nice work, a fave; or, God forbid, a re-tweet resulted from the thousands who claimed to be a follower, except for a few faithful friends on occasion, of which even some of the latter seemed to desert me.

Call me paranoid or psychotic. I don’t care anymore. My return to Facebook was welcomed with pretty much the same animosity as dealt to me on Twitter, resulting in a small purge of so-called friends there as well.

Feeling shunned and like a pariah, I decided to expunge my following of all those who never communicated with me or have ceased to connect any longer. No great loss, in my humble opinion.

In fact, it’s a welcomed change not to scroll through hundreds, make that thousands, of self-promoting narcissists, themselves looking only for reinforcement with their constant codswallop—gee, I love that term. It’s so immensely descriptive.

Now it’s fun to watch my follower count on Twitter drop as fast as my purging of those who really were looking only to include me as just a number on their growing list of automatically bot-gathered minions, managed by the many services that reflexively un-follow those who un-follow them spontaneously.

I’ve kept the few on my following list who communicate regularly and have stuck with me for all this time, and for those of whom I want to especially follow, like my rock-and-roll heroes, sports favorites, interesting tweeps and such, even if they never respond back to my comments on their tweets.

So, as this last week of October is short, so is this diatribe, ending with the overused expression for those followers who left me no choice but to say, “Don’t let the door smack you in the butt on the way out.”

For those who have remained faithful and responsive, thanks, for your continued support.

The following video clip made by yours truly represents the many who are now going their separate ways, having come in and exited through the swinging doors of a convenience store called Social Media.

About Mike Slickster

As an early retiree with an honorary doctorate degree from the proverbial "School of Hard Knocks," this upcoming author with a lot of free time on his hands utilizes his expansive repertoire for humorous yet tragic, wildly creative writing that contains years of imaginative fantasy, pure nonsense, classic slapstick, extreme happiness and searing heartbreak; gathered by a wealth of personal experiences throughout his thrilling—sometimes mundane or unusually horrid—free-spirited, rock-'n'-roller-coaster ride around our beloved Planet Earth. Mike Slickster's illustrious quest continues, living now in Act Three of his present incarnation, quite a bit on the cutting edge of profundity and philosophical merriment as seen through his colorful characters, most notably evident in the amusing Thirty Days Across the Big Pond series, all of which can be found at Lulu.com.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

