Just Goes to Show You, There’s Always Something!

autumn-sarobia

Autumn at Sarobia

If something horrible happens as a result of your own negligence, do you relive the moment in your mind, over and over again, wishing you hadn’t been so careless, and wanting to turn back the clock to before the incident occurred, so you can prevent it from transpiring?

I do it all the time, like when I got into a fender bender from taking my eyes off the road for a second or two and realizing the car in front of me had come to a dead halt, rehashing the event multiple times in my head during the ensuing days that followed.

Fortunately, no one was injured except for my pride, my right front fender and the bumper of the other car involved in the accident.

Receiving a traffic violation is another circumstance which gets a lot of repetitive, “if only I had maintained the speed limit.”

Yesterday, while on a photo-shoot, I switched camera lenses hurriedly and clipped off an electrical contact that disabled my Sigma 500mm lens’s auto-focus function and optical stabilization, keeping me awake most of last night thinking about it. Earlier in the evening, I discovered the problem after returning home from taking pictures at one of my favorite spots and finding the contact missing. I jerry-rigged it to work, but it’s not a permanent solution.

Today, I went back to where the incident took place and searched all over for the connection, which was like looking for a needle in a haystack. If found, I could have inserted it back in place, and everything would be hunky-dory, but no cigar.

It’s not the end of the world, but I’ve been bummed out all day over it, stopping at a camera-repair shop to see if they could fix it. They told me the lens would have to be sent out to the manufacturer for repair, which I thanked them for their time, telling them I could do that myself through Sigma’s Web site, and came back home to sulk some more.

Two winters ago, another lens malfunctioned and I sent it to a Nikon service center for repair. They fixed it in no time at a minimal cost. I hope the same will be the case after I mail the big lens on Monday, having made arrangements with Sigma to do so.

As Rosanne Rosannadanna used to incessantly say, “There’s always something.” At least the DSLR camera’s body wasn’t damaged, and my other two lenses, an 18-55mm and 55-300mm, are still in working order. I’d be lost in life without them, especially now in autumn with the foliage beginning to display their annual bursts of color. It’s ironic how death in that circumstance is so beautiful.

I’ll probably be without the big lens for a week or two, so no more close-ups of wildlife for a while.

Got my weekly tirade done under the wire for this second week of October.

Thanks for allowing me to blow off some steam, and for your continued support.

About Mike Slickster

As an early retiree with an honorary doctorate degree from the proverbial "School of Hard Knocks," this upcoming author with a lot of free time on his hands utilizes his expansive repertoire for humorous yet tragic, wildly creative writing that contains years of imaginative fantasy, pure nonsense, classic slapstick, extreme happiness and searing heartbreak; gathered by a wealth of personal experiences throughout his thrilling—sometimes mundane or unusually horrid—free-spirited, rock-'n'-roller-coaster ride around our beloved Planet Earth. Mike Slickster's illustrious quest continues, living now in Act Three of his present incarnation, quite a bit on the cutting edge of profundity and philosophical merriment as seen through his colorful characters, most notably evident in the amusing Thirty Days Across the Big Pond series, all of which can be found at Lulu.com.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

