Something is Rotten in Denmark

Tacony-Palmyra-Bridge

Tacony-Palmyra Bridge, heading out of Philadelphia to NJ.

So here’s the latest poop on the Cooper. Things just seem too coincidental.

Over the past weekend, as I was traveling out of my apartment’s development in Andalusia, going over a speed bump at about 5 m.p.h., flash, all 25 bad-indicator beacons came on simultaneously, otherwise known as “idiot lights.”

Some of them were blinking. I lost my power-assisted steering which made it feel as if I were driving a miniature tank.

Pulling over and shutting the engine down, I restarted the car, hoping by rebooting the onboard computer, the lights would reset. All but the battery’s fault light went out, and the power-assisted steering was still disabled. Cooper has been temporarily renamed Sherman.

Raising the hood, I determined the motor’s serpentine belt had disappeared, which operated the power-assisted steering and water pumps, plus the alternator.

While returning back home, I didn’t see its lying in the road, flattened out like a ran-over highway snake. Limping with all the accessories turned off and motoring slowly, so as not to overheat the engine, the car had fortunately not gone too far away.

The end result is the poor auto got towed down to the Mini dealer across the Delaware River into NJ this morning, to make my 10:15 appointment for having the windshield replaced.

Finding a local towing outfit yesterday, I called them back early at 8 a.m. today to arrange transporting the vehicle for repairs. The driver arrived promptly, hooking up the Cooper onto his flatbed and away we went.

I had hitched a ride in the tow truck to the service center, who had made arrangements to provide me with a loaner in the meantime.

Mini-loaner-s

Mini Clubman

At the last major service there, they gave me a new Clubman, a bit roomier than my “S” and sleeker-looking.

Mine was in to have the oil pan replaced, due to negligence on the part of another shop who changed my oil a few days prior and stripped the drain plug. I was looking forward to cruising in style later.

The coincidence lies with the similarity of needing major repairs directly after my having taken the car to Dynamo Brothers (see previous post for details). Somehow I feel like there’s something rotten in Denmark; sorry for the cliche.

On the way out of Philadelphia, over the Tacony-Palmyra Bridge onto Route 73, the driver and I small-talked and then got right into politics. One can’t escape all the vitriol that’s being spewed lately. I had to bite my tongue on a few occasions.  Didn’t want to get into fisticuffs over putting a foot in my mouth, as I do so often, especially on Social Media.

For me it’s all in good fun. We had some laughs as well and made it to the Mini dealer way ahead of time. After flirting with my service advisor, Judy (her real name), I was given a loaner: a minivan instead from the local car-rental agency. The service center didn’t have any Coopers available.

Phooey, just my luck; but I can’t complain about the ride. It’s comfortable, has a decent sound system and air-conditioning. For what more could I ask? Well, how about a Mini with the John Cooper Works Package? That would be a lot of fun.

Now a game of wait-and-see looms over this blogster. I’m keeping my fingers crossed for the damages and costs to be as expected.

Think I should take my car back to Dynamo Brothers to finally pass PA-state inspection when all this fiasco is done? Right, and please book an appointment with a good headshrinker for me if I do!

Thanks for reading and for your continued support.

 

 

 

 

 

About Mike Slickster

As an early retiree with an honorary doctorate degree from the proverbial "School of Hard Knocks," this upcoming author with a lot of free time on his hands utilizes his expansive repertoire for humorous yet tragic, wildly creative writing that contains years of imaginative fantasy, pure nonsense, classic slapstick, extreme happiness and searing heartbreak; gathered by a wealth of personal experiences throughout his thrilling—sometimes mundane or unusually horrid—free-spirited, rock-'n'-roller-coaster ride around our beloved Planet Earth. Mike Slickster's illustrious quest continues, living now in Act Three of his present incarnation, quite a bit on the cutting edge of profundity and philosophical merriment as seen through his colorful characters, most notably evident in the amusing Thirty Days Across the Big Pond series, all of which can be found at Lulu.com.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

