Got the Time?

Bluebird-Pennypack

Blue Grosbeak

To get in something for the first week of July, allow me to wish America a happy birthday, upcoming next week on Monday the 4th.

Seems like the year is cruising past at an unusually rapid pace. Every year passes faster anyway.

Millennials might dispute that, but  I noticed it from when I turned 25, although at a considerably slower rate than presently.

I like the old metaphor about how life is like toilet paper, which seems to linger longer until getting toward the end of the roll, where it’s bound to run out at lightning speed before you know it.

Too bad one can’t just go to the loo’s cupboard and unpack another life as easily as it is to put a new roll on the spindle, provided there’s some left in the closet. I always make sure there is. Toilet tissue and dental floss are my two biggies.

Can we slow it down some, please? No matter how much I pray to my patron saint, that will never happen. In the rare times I find myself bored, that even passes by quickly.

The secret is to get as much in during the time that’s left. Live life as if nobody’s watching. Wait, that’s supposed to be “dance.”

The trouble with cramming in as much to do as possible is time goes by increasingly expeditiously thereafter, directly proportionate to the amount of newly included extracurricular activities.

So that’s where procrastination comes in, substituting the mundane for the enjoyable to slow things down. My previous entry dealt with the topic in length. That’s my story and I’m sticking to it; however, my car still needs to be inspected.

I did do the food-shopping on Thursday as mentioned. Early Friday morning, I hit the alarm’s snooze button only once upon being blasted out of bed before showering, dressing, heading out the door and arriving at the inspection station by 8 a.m.

“Sorry, no state inspections today,” the service advisor at my regular facility said. “We’re short-staffed ‘cus of the holiday. Too many guys took off for the weekend. Work’s backed up from yesterday.”

Biting my tongue, I thought that was their problem for poor scheduling of employees on the first of the month, not mine, prompting me to becoming the consumer from Hell and giving them a bloody piece of my mind for having to get up so early in the morning for nothing.

Call me Ebeneezer, but that don’t confront me! Nevertheless, I calmly told the guy I’ll be back on Tuesday and left.

Had a great breakfast at the local diner. Didn’t get that haircut though. Saving it for next Tuesday.

The bird at the top of this page, by the way, is a blue grosbeak. I took a shot of it today at one of my photo haunts. This is a new one for me.

At first I thought it might have been an eastern bluebird, but the beak is different. Same for the mountain bluebird.

The little creature is part of the northern-cardinal family, whose conservation status sits at the lowest degree of facing extinction, or at “least concern.”

This guy probably came up and crossed the Mason-Dixon Line, trying to find cooler temperatures. His terrain is typically down South.

Today was a fabulous one for mild temperatures in the Philadelphia region, low 80s (~28C) for the high, low humidity and a breeze.

OK, my 500 words have been hit, so have a fun rest of your weekend.

Cheers!

PS: Allow me to torture your ears with my latest musical composition called, “Mike’s 4th of July Blues Bolero.” I remastered the previously embedded track which was deleted. Think it sounds better?

About Mike Slickster

As an early retiree with an honorary doctorate degree from the proverbial "School of Hard Knocks," this upcoming author with a lot of free time on his hands utilizes his expansive repertoire for humorous yet tragic, wildly creative writing that contains years of imaginative fantasy, pure nonsense, classic slapstick, extreme happiness and searing heartbreak; gathered by a wealth of personal experiences throughout his thrilling—sometimes mundane or unusually horrid—free-spirited, rock-'n'-roller-coaster ride around our beloved Planet Earth. Mike Slickster's illustrious quest continues, living now in Act Three of his present incarnation, quite a bit on the cutting edge of profundity and philosophical merriment as seen through his colorful characters, most notably evident in the amusing Thirty Days Across the Big Pond series, all of which can be found at Lulu.com.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Got the Time?

  1. Not to toot my own horn, but I’ll do so anyway. I thought the cover art was quite creative, original and extraordinary, thank you very much. The photograph of Philadelphia is iconic. The photo-shop job of the Beatles’ crossing the Benjamin Franklin Parkway and the Volkswagon pasted at the median was brilliant, imho. The music might be mediocre at its worst, although it took a lot of love and work. It’s much harder making music than just listening to it, looking for all the mistakes.

Leave a Reply

