Time to Pay the Blogosphere’s Piper

Time

New Orleans

I’m behind a post for this month, having skipped the first week of June and the last week of May. An extra post appeared during the course of last month, so it’s just this month I’ll have to make up.

Wasn’t inspired, I guess; not that my livelihood depends on spitting out a weekly diatribe, or my going to get fired for missing a deadline. It’s not always easy to pick a subject about which to ramble and make me look more neurotic than I am already.

The kind of pressure media professionals have, those who must slap together something of value and interest to weekly readers of their respective periodicals, has to wear one down after a while, which makes me wonder how cartoonists and columnists satisfy their publishers for a daily commitment including weekends.

My weekly offerings are a labor of love and a great way to relieve stress for this blogger. Guilt builds up if I don’t at least get something together for my regularly posted rants, adding fuel to the constant frustration that burns inside me.

When I grasp at straws to pick a topic, Social Media comes to the rescue, bringing us to today’s tirade.

Every time I log onto Twitter I notice my follower-count fluctuates up and down like the indicator on my bathroom’s scale.

That’s because of the many bot services which harvest followers by automatically mass-following sundry accounts and then unfollowing those who don’t follow back within a day or so.

I don’t follow everyone back. My timeline gets cluttered with hype as it is. Sorry for sounding selfish, but I want unique content to show up and tickle my fancy, not your everyday, cut-and-pasted bull crap and holier-than-thou, multi-hour rampages.

An acquaintance has a disclaimer on his profile page, saying, “Don’t follow me and expect a follow back. If you want followers, start a church.”

Love it! My sentiments exactly, but these follower bots don’t read your page. Think they give a damn? Their main quest is to corral as many followers as possible, unscrupulously and seamlessly.

In fact, most of those who use the follower bots to inflate their own statistics don’t read your page or tweets either. They are only into self-gratification, self-promotion and tweets meant to inflate their enormous egos as well.

Usually after posting a small barrage of photos, or getting into an extended ballyhoo about a subject, I’ll notice a drop in my user count, which normally is from those whom I haven’t followed back.

They must have checked to see if I was following them after not recognizing my typical, often flamboyant and sometimes vulgar, off-the-cuff offerings and goings-on, unfollowing when they find out to the contrary.

So long and don’t let the Social Media door smack you upside the butt on your way out.

Another self-imposed criteria for my weekly nonsense is to total at least 500 words, remembering the dread and anxiety from procrastinating and having to write 500-word compositions in elementary and high school, usually about something that I couldn’t care less about.

So now the word count is up to 514, allowing me to sign off for another 7 days and thank you for your continued support.

Speaking of self-promotion, allow me to present my latest delving into classical music. This particular medley brings me back to Saturday morning cartoons, Bugs Bunny and Elmer Fudd, and the Lone Ranger…, “Hi Ho, Silver, away!”

About Mike Slickster

As an early retiree with an honorary doctorate degree from the proverbial "School of Hard Knocks," this upcoming author with a lot of free time on his hands utilizes his expansive repertoire for humorous yet tragic, wildly creative writing that contains years of imaginative fantasy, pure nonsense, classic slapstick, extreme happiness and searing heartbreak; gathered by a wealth of personal experiences throughout his thrilling—sometimes mundane or unusually horrid—free-spirited, rock-'n'-roller-coaster ride around our beloved Planet Earth. Mike Slickster's illustrious quest continues, living now in Act Three of his present incarnation, quite a bit on the cutting edge of profundity and philosophical merriment as seen through his colorful characters, most notably evident in the amusing Thirty Days Across the Big Pond series, all of which can be found at Lulu.com.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Time to Pay the Blogosphere’s Piper

  1. shirleyann21 says:

    It’s quality rather than quantity. Yep sometimes social media is just about getting things off your chest but trust me friends are like stars you don’t always see them but they are out there 🤗

  2. So true, Shirley Ann. Thank you. Social Media is all a game anyway 🙂

  3. shirleyann21 says:

    It’s a mixed blessing and a curse and requires a sense of balance and perspective along with maturity and extreme caution.

  4. The Internet was the curse.

Leave a Reply

