Looking At Life Through Rose-colored Glasses; Or What Ever Happened To Generation Z?

rose-colored-glasses

Rose-colored Glasses

A surefire way to quell any rational conversation on Social Media is to infuse one’s views or beliefs about politics and religion. Death is another.

Who wants to read or talk about those topics?  Especially with death; yet everyone loves and reacts to posts about when someone has died.

Other than that, the rest is not fun. Most peeps would rather look at and respond to cats, puppy-dogs, selfies, pop- or rock-star paraphernalia and fanaticism; lunch on Facebook, Snapchat or Instagram; sugar-coated memes about how life is good or can be, forever after.

Those who do converse freely about the aforementioned topics on, let’s say, Twitter, particularly about religion and politics, spew hatred, lies and distorted views. Their relentless babble streams constantly on my timeline.

I don’t know why I follow them, just for the numbers probably; but that’s an entirely different post already propagated.

Not me, I’m Mr. Lovey-Dovey since hyphenated surnames have always been the craze, having been called a “hippy” way back then.

To me that label was great. To others it meant filth, immorality, being Un-American, one whose hair was too long and needing shampooing. A bath would have been nice as well, so they said.

Well, excuse me. I took a shower everyday and washed my hair. I voted in all the presidential elections since the 26th Amendment to the US Constitution lowered the voting age to eighteen. Cut me some slack, will you?

Just the other day, I put together an old punk song in my home studio for self-enjoyment. My music is for me mostly. No one else seems to like it. I don’t know why. Maybe one or two folks do, but methinks they are only being nice and polite.

Everyone else keeps their traps shut. Perhaps they follow the old proverb about if someone didn’t have something nice to say, don’t say anything at all. That appears to be the case for me.

To make matters worse, my latest attempt for gaining musical acceptance was a cover tune by a mainstream punk band from 1980: The Jim Carroll Band, who wrote a ditty called “People Who Died.”

Singing about those who were plowed euphemistically six feet under way before their time, as so many rock legends ended—specifically at twenty-seven years young—isn’t exactly what today’s typical Social Media-addicted aficionados want to hear.

The listener count at SoundCloud, where I’ve posted it, along with a video put up on YouTube, got minimal hits. I lost two followers on Twitter after tweeting it.

Could it be most of my followers say, “What, people who died? I don’t want to hear about that. Sing or play something about a long life with peachy-keen, sickeningly sweet happiness and personal success,” professed by every Tom, Dick and Mary on the Interwebs.

Maybe I should record “How Much is the Kitty Cat in the Window?” Think that would get some response? Excuse me again. The song’s title is “How Much is the Doggie in the Window?” It was big hit for Patti Page; however, dogs fall lower on the Internet scale for cuteness.

Probably not, I take it. The tune’s too old, and I bet most never heard of her. I can understand that. Although Boomers were the majority of the population at one time, we’re beginning to die off now; and Generation X, Y, and Millennials have overtaken us.

What I’d like to know is, what happened to Generation “Z”? Perhaps the catch-phrase spin doctors didn’t want to jinx any of today’s future as being the last generation on Earth, alphabetically.

So, anyway, I’ll continue to record my all-time favorites as I cruise along the rock-and-roll highway of yesterday, even if only for me. Maybe one day I’ll be inspired to write a hit of my own which may yield a few likes and re-tweets on Social Media. I don’t do Facebook anymore, which means no shares; but ask me if I care.

My sincere condolences and heartfelt thoughts go out to the people of Brussels, where at least thirty were killed and scores of others were injured yesterday. Another useless show of hatred and ignorance was committed by radical extremists. When is all this cowardly vengeance going to stop?

The following  is actually timeless and really meaningful at the moment, if only by inserting an extra verse for all the people who died unnecessarily in Belgium:

Thanks for stopping by and your continued support.

About Mike Slickster

As an early retiree with an honorary doctorate degree from the proverbial "School of Hard Knocks," this upcoming author with a lot of free time on his hands utilizes his expansive repertoire for humorous yet tragic, wildly creative writing that contains years of imaginative fantasy, pure nonsense, classic slapstick, extreme happiness and searing heartbreak; gathered by a wealth of personal experiences throughout his thrilling—sometimes mundane or unusually horrid—free-spirited, rock-'n'-roller-coaster ride around our beloved Planet Earth. Mike Slickster's illustrious quest continues, living now in Act Three of his present incarnation, quite a bit on the cutting edge of profundity and philosophical merriment as seen through his colorful characters, most notably evident in the amusing Thirty Days Across the Big Pond series, all of which can be found at Lulu.com.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

