The Circle Game

Instant-Coffee

Instant Coffee

Thanksgiving has passed already and we all gained at least five pounds, right? The upcoming holidays are always a time for deep reflection, a season’s beginning at the cusp of another less than a month away. To where does time disappear so quickly?

That’s relative to how old one is. A youngster can’t wait for time to roll by until the year-end holidays and their birthdays, who can’t wait to be a teenager; or when they’ll be a year older, thinking adulthood is a millennium away.

Maybe that’s the secret. Wishing for time to pass fast. Pardon my usage of a flat adverb, an aside for staunch grammarians who might be reading this text.

Huh? Never mind.

So looking to the future and impatiently waiting, wishing for the aging process to explode like both barrels of a shotgun is a surefire way to slow those circles down, eh? I don’t think so.

Procrastination is the name of the game for me. Be nice to put off old age for a decade or two, maybe even three. Exercise, a decent diet, keeping one’s mind occupied and thinking young helps also; but that still doesn’t stop the wheels from wearing down. Too bad we couldn’t just go into Goodyear to get a new set.

I’ve been putting off doing the dreaded grocery shopping, as usual, and ran out of instant coffee. While in the convenient store on the way home last evening, I asked a young clerk if they stocked the item.

“What’s that?” she said.

“Instant coffee, comes in a jar. You spoon it out into a cup, pour boiling water into it and bingo, a fresh cup of coffee.”

“Wait, let me ask.” With a glazed look in her eye she was off to the deli, inquiring there and returning back in a flash. “No, just the peculator kind. I never heard of instant coffee.”

“What? You never heard of instant coffee, like Maxwell House or Folgers?”

“Nope.”

“Boy, does that ever make me feel old. Well, thanks anyway. Google it when you get home.”

“I will.” The young lady smiled and scurried off to the backroom. I be she couldn’t wait that long and was using her iPhone to look it up, thinking I was talking like a madman.

Today is Cyber Monday. Do you do online shopping, looking for bargains? Amazon is my venue for all kinds of stuff year-round. They’re constantly teasing me with discounts.

I just bought a keyboard from the conglomerate after wanting one for a while. The price was too good to refuse. They’re smart, discounting the item but getting their money back from necessary items like a stand, cover, and sustain pedal.

Home-Studio02-s

Home Studio With New Keyboard

Fender is another mass-marketing genius, constantly offering musician’s eye candy, making my mouth water. They advertised something I couldn’t refuse for their Black-Friday discounts: a seven-pack of harmonicas in various keys, complete with a carrying case for a super-cheap price, in my humble opinion.

On the dental-floss front, the end of the mint-coated strand pulled out of its container last night; but alas, it’s not a problem. I’ve got a full one in the kitchen cabinet. Now I must buy another to feel secure.

Don’t think I can put off food-shopping any longer, so on real-life Monday it’s going happen. Perhaps I should have put off writing my weekly entry until later, to vent the aggravations therefrom, making great fodder for a tirade. I need to put dental floss on the list.

Anyways, happy holidays, and thanks for your continued support.

About Mike Slickster

As an early retiree with an honorary doctorate degree from the proverbial "School of Hard Knocks," this upcoming author with a lot of free time on his hands utilizes his expansive repertoire for humorous yet tragic, wildly creative writing that contains years of imaginative fantasy, pure nonsense, classic slapstick, extreme happiness and searing heartbreak; gathered by a wealth of personal experiences throughout his thrilling—sometimes mundane or unusually horrid—free-spirited, rock-'n'-roller-coaster ride around our beloved Planet Earth. Mike Slickster's illustrious quest continues, living now in Act Three of his present incarnation, quite a bit on the cutting edge of profundity and philosophical merriment as seen through his colorful characters, most notably evident in the amusing Thirty Days Across the Big Pond series, all of which can be found at Lulu.com.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Circle Game

  1. shirleyann21 says:

    Might be an idea to order your coffee on Amazon too and save having to explain a basic concept to some dozy mare who from the sound of it has lived in a bubble on another planet . That’s quite a collection of instruments you have there – do you have the London Philharmonic orchestra as lodgers ? If so get them to pay their dues by bringing you some decent coffee and stocking your cupboards up for Christmas – which by the way I hope you have a good one 🤗

    • Ya know, I never thought of that. What a good idea. Maybe I can find a bargain on a six-pack of instant coffee and store them for such occasions. The clerk seemed to be quite an airhead, but figured I be nice and leave that description to the imagination.

      Thanks, I love my instruments. They help wallow away the time. No Philharmonic orchestra, just a one-man band. Thanks again, Shirley Ann, for your humourous comments. I always enjoy reading them. Hope your holiday season is a good one for you as well.

  2. Oh, I’d like to add, btw, I did the food-shopping finally yesterday as planned for another good spell 🙂

  3. shirleyann21 says:

    The London Philharmonic orchestra pass on their thanks and look forward to a great Sunday roast

Leave a Reply

