Today’s Tirade: This Is Just Me Having Fun!

How some feel about themselves on Social Media

How some feel about themselves on Social Media


I never claimed to be a guru of anything, as so many in Social Media claim to be. Just what I don’t want to see on my timeline is another blowhard who thinks their poop don’t stink. By claiming to be an expert on anything is a surefire way to be ignored by me.

Twitter is the worst platform for containing all these self-ordained Social Media swamis, who shove their crap down your throat in top-ten lists, nauseating memes and worn-out inspirational quotes from dead scholars, never to send any sort of salutation or acknowledgment to their endearing followers, except when it serves their own purposes.

Why is it, lists of didactic ditties are the thing lately, coming in entries of at least five or more items, photos, or innuendos? Tell me the meaning of life in one sentence. Then I’ll listen to you.

When I first joined Twitter, getting followed by anyone was an honor and a compliment to me, my considering these individuals were reaching out, wanting to appreciate what I had to offer. It took a long time for me to realize a large portion of my followers were only looking to stack their own numbers, using these so-called robot services that harvest sheep by automatically following anybody, expecting a follow-back within a short period of time, un-following shortly thereafter if one doesn’t respond to their tactics.

Then there are those who are never responsive to me after their initial following, even after my attempting to open up a conversation with them; but yet I become bombarded by their incessant bullshit from day one, pardon my English.

I’m not a professional musician, although I was paid to perform in my younger years. My love for music is expressed through my new-found interest in digital recording and recently purchased musical instruments. Everyone’s a critic. I’ve been told recently my endeavors are discordant and sacrilegious to their gods of rock and roll. At least it’s commentary, however, which is a rare occurrence for me.

My goal is to please anyone, who seem to be few and far between anymore. My gift to everyone is the sharing of my labor and time in putting together whatever artistic article I post on Social Media. Is my work all that bad to not have any feedback from anyone except for the kindness of a very few of my loyal friends?

Methinks I need to not take Social Media so personally. It’s not real life but a fantasy for most of those involved. What these various platforms are for me is strictly for enjoyment. So stop taking things so seriously. After all, this is just me having fun.

Thanks for all the fish!

End of rant and weekly journal entry.

About Mike Slickster

As an early retiree with an honorary doctorate degree from the proverbial "School of Hard Knocks," this upcoming author with a lot of free time on his hands utilizes his expansive repertoire for humorous yet tragic, wildly creative writing that contains years of imaginative fantasy, pure nonsense, classic slapstick, extreme happiness and searing heartbreak; gathered by a wealth of personal experiences throughout his thrilling—sometimes mundane or unusually horrid—free-spirited, rock-'n'-roller-coaster ride around our beloved Planet Earth. Mike Slickster's illustrious quest continues, living now in Act Three of his present incarnation, quite a bit on the cutting edge of profundity and philosophical merriment as seen through his colorful characters, most notably evident in the amusing Thirty Days Across the Big Pond series, all of which can be found at Lulu.com.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

