Rebates

old air-card

Old Air-card


Never had I sent back any manufactures’ rebates ever—another overused word in today’s spoken and written language, as in “best ever, most fun ever; ever and ever, amen; etc.” Merriam Webster should accept combining “ever” with other words to make one, like “forever and whatever.” However, ever combined with some words is just plain redundant. One should never ever do it.

Anyway, back to the original premise, I had to upgrade my air-card a little over a month ago when I got my new laptop (see: Life Goes On). The old card fit snugly into an expansion port in my previous two laptops, into which none was available in the new ‘puter. The card-carrier’s original plan dated back to 2006 when air-cards were just becoming popular, and the extreme-bandwidth usage used typically today for most everything was virtually nonexistent. I had unlimited-data transfer for $69/month, a great deal which lasted until I upgraded to the new USB-driven gizmo, for which the buggers pulled in the reins with the new agreement to go along with it.

new air-card

New Air-card

On the upside, the new device hails a 4G LTE network, a lot faster than my prior 3-G protocol; but now instead of unlimited-data transfer, I’m limited to 6 GB/month for $49/month, which can be eaten up quickly while watching clips on YouTube or whichever site is preferred.

“Why the air-card,” you ask? My Internet cable company drops out regularly and I need a backup. Most of my day-to-day business dealings on the Web are performed at home on my laptop. Besides, back when the air-cards first came out, smartphones were dumb compared to present; and I depended on the former when traveling for my job, all of which can be done now on my resourceful Android.

The upgraded air-card, not looking like a card anymore, cost $74.99 with a $50.00 mail-in rebate, lowering the total price to ~$25.00 for the new gadget. I filled out the rebate form, including all the necessary numbers and account information with a ball-point pen (how archaic), mailed it in and awaited to receive my 50 bucks. Two days later an e-mail arrived, saying the broadband carrier received my rebate submission, giving me a tracking number, and telling me if I have met the eligibility requirements, to expect a $50 American Express Rewards Card in approximately eight weeks, redeemable wherever. I like that idea, a lot more convenient than a check; or a cheque: an anomaly as to why did Noah Webster alter American English by removing “u’s” from the ends of words, changing the spelling around from such standards as “behaviour, rumour and neighbour”? I had a discussion with a Canadian the other night about this. She said we Americans screwed up a perfectly good language. Whatever!

Will I send in another rebate next time one is available? You bet I will. This makes me wonder why I never had done it before. Laziness on my part for filling out the form and mailing it is probably why. Now to wait another month, thinking about all the possibilities on how I will spend the cash. I wonder if I can use it on Amazon.

About Mike Slickster

As an early retiree with an honorary doctorate degree from the proverbial "School of Hard Knocks," this upcoming author with a lot of free time on his hands utilizes his expansive repertoire for humorous yet tragic, wildly creative writing that contains years of imaginative fantasy, pure nonsense, classic slapstick, extreme happiness and searing heartbreak; gathered by a wealth of personal experiences throughout his thrilling—sometimes mundane or unusually horrid—free-spirited, rock-'n'-roller-coaster ride around our beloved Planet Earth. Mike Slickster's illustrious quest continues, living now in Act Three of his present incarnation, quite a bit on the cutting edge of profundity and philosophical merriment as seen through his colorful characters, most notably evident in the amusing Thirty Days Across the Big Pond series, all of which can be found at Lulu.com.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

