Fish Oil

Fish-oil

So I’m sitting on the throne, taking care of my morning constitutional while reading an article about how September is National Prostate Cancer Awareness Month, in which it warns against popping omega-3 fish-oil globules regularly in large doses, or eating fatty fish more than twice a week. The reason? Studies have shown that men with high levels of fish oil in their bloodstreams are at a greater risk for developing fatal prostate tumors. Ain’t that great?

Several years ago my doctor, who is now retired, advised I should take four globules of fish oil daily for keeping my cholesterol levels in check, which I’ve been doing religiously since then, buying the product in bulk. It really helped, bringing the count well within the acceptable margin, when I was close to the borderline of being high before taking the supplement. Now I read this about the risk of fish oil or eating fatty fish in regular quantities can kill me.  I love fish and eat it regularly as well.

Every day it seems as if something else one has done for years is suddenly deemed fatal. It makes me want to stop reading at times. Like Henny Youngman once said, “When I read about the evils of drinking, I gave up reading.”

Now I have two stored, unopened bottles of Omega-3 fish-oil globules, containing 200 globs in each container, 1000 mg apiece, which I won’t be using as a safeguard for my beloved prostate.  What about the Mediterranean Diet? I love anchovies and eat them regularly. Am I supposed to stop eating them too?

Anyone want to buy some fatty fish-oil softgels, cheap? Let me know. Waste not want not.

About Mike Slickster

As an early retiree with an honorary doctorate degree from the proverbial "School of Hard Knocks," this upcoming author with a lot of free time on his hands utilizes his expansive repertoire for humorous yet tragic, wildly creative writing that contains years of imaginative fantasy, pure nonsense, classic slapstick, extreme happiness and searing heartbreak; gathered by a wealth of personal experiences throughout his thrilling—sometimes mundane or unusually horrid—free-spirited, rock-'n'-roller-coaster ride around our beloved Planet Earth. Mike Slickster's illustrious quest continues, living now in Act Three of his present incarnation, quite a bit on the cutting edge of profundity and philosophical merriment as seen through his colorful characters, most notably evident in the amusing Thirty Days Across the Big Pond series, all of which can be found at Lulu.com.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

